Kasi Kubwa

As my Maasai friend Thomas says, “Kasi kubwa” — we have “Big work” to do.

I met with Thomas, the project manager of the school project yesterday. He is a friend I met on my first visit, who at the time had just returned from studying in Boston. He was my first real Maasai friend, and introduced me to the family that I so love (the Mungayo family). If I wasn’t inspired before our meeting, I certainly am now. Everything I had envisioned for the school is possible, it seems.

He has big plans for the Maasai schools (there are 3) and the communities. My focus will be on the Oldonyo Sambu Primary School, which is where the Mungayo children attend (photo of Esu at the school from my last visit is attached). I want to be very specific about my goals and plans, so that I can truly show impact and progress, so the other schools, while very important also, will have to wait until another phase for my attention.

Later this week, I will be heading out to the school to get a firsthand perspective, but according to Thomas, the existing building needs a roof and desks. Then, we’re hoping to build another classroom later in the year. The first two tasks are possible immediately, I think…and the latter build will take a bit of doing — grant proposals, a bit more fundraising, finding appropriate partnerships, etc. Yes, I have kasi kubwa ahead of me! But I am truly, truly excited about it all!

After my visit to the school and headmaster, I’ll know more specifics, but for now, let’s just say, it’s good, it’s exciting, and I think it’s all doable.

Otherwise, life here is good. The weather is great. The fresh bananas and avocados are lovely. Had my first cuppa yesterday…finally. Made it just before the lights went out…which is a daily occurrence. A couple hours without electricity is kind of interesting. All the appliances (cooker, fridge, teapot) are electric, so whatever you are in the middle of, just stops for awhile. So far, it’s only happened at dinnertime twice. Otherwise, it was the middle of the night and mid-afternoon, which isn’t a big deal. I’ve just been taking my book to the fireplace and reading for a bit…or pulling my chair out to the front of the apt and having a glass of wine or (last night!) tea. It’s a very relaxing way of life…and so far I’m enjoying it.

All here is nzuri sana (very good)…hope it is with you as well.

Heidi

4 responses to “Kasi Kubwa

  1. Luanne Bruckner

    Yes’m doable. Let me know what, when and where you need items or how we can help more. You are the wind in the sails.

    Mom

  2. Ahhhh……mazing.

    Amazing.

    My sister wants to see how she and her kids can help! They do a project each year for school that is intended to help people. Perhaps, they could have a lemonade stand and make some money and send you whatever the school needs! Let me know what they would want, as in pencils, paper, note pads, etc….or if you have a better idea, let me know!

    See you in 3 weeks from tomorrow!!!! (woah, I just had a little heart palpitation when I typed that)

    YAYAYAYAYAY!!!!
    Anna

  3. Mom and Anna –
    I will see what else we need. Right now, it’s all about actually finishing the buildings that are sitting there roofless — so common, here it seems. They definitely will need small things as well, but I’ll need to check with the schoolmasters…yes, there are two schools now: Meru and Maasai with roofless classrooms. Since both tribes hosted me before, I feel like there’s no way not to help both.

    Pens, paper, pencils I know are needed…but again, will check with the schools to see what’s on their priority lists.

    Thank you both!

    xoxo
    Heidi

  4. Lori Horton Anderson

    Hi Heidi,
    I am so inspired by you! I look forward to keeping up with your journey via your blogs. Yes, please keep us all updated on what the schools need so I can try to do my part to help out. Take care!

    Lori

Leave a Reply

